Artadia is pleased to announce the five Finalists for the 2016 Atlanta Awards: Kelly Kristin Jones, T. Lang, Jiha Moon, Zipporah Thompson, and Cosmo Whyte.

The Finalists were selected by jurors Sofía Hernández Chong Cuy, Curator of Contemporary Art, Colección Patricia Phelps de Cisneros, Jamillah James, Curator, Institute of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, and Katherine Jentleson, Merrie and Dan Boone Curator of Folk and Self-Taught Art, High Museum of Art.

Artadia’s jurying process provided nationally recognized curators a unique opportunity to discover nearly 200 artists living and working in Atlanta, giving each applicant crucial exposure to leading voices in the field. Of the Atlanta applicants, Jentleson noted: “It has been a privilege and an inspiration to get to know the work of Atlanta’s amazing artists. I feel incredibly lucky to be surrounded by such talent and look forward to many more encounters.” Hernández Chong Cuy also spoke to the quality of the submissions: “The selection process was difficult–simply because there were a great number of artists with strong work to consider, an indication, too, of a lively arts community in Atlanta.”

James highlighted the ways in which the process forges professional connections between curators and artists: “It’s always exciting to learn about the work being made in other parts of the country. I was quite impressed by the breadth and rigor of the work I reviewed for the Atlanta jury, and plan to keep an eye on these artists, and see how their work continues to develop.

This is Artadia’s fourth time presenting curator-driven, unrestricted Awards to Atlanta artists. Artadia received 188 applications for the 2016 Atlanta Artadia Awards, which were open to all visual artists living in Greater Atlanta (the 23 eligible counties of Barrow, Bartow, Butts, Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Henry, Morgan, Newton, Paulding, Pickens, Rockdale, Spalding, and Walton) for over two years, working in any media and at any stage of their career. Finalists and Artadia Award recipients are selected through Artadia’s rigorous, two-tier jury review process. In the first round of review, jurors evaluated the merit of all submissions and collaboratively determined the five Finalists.

The 2016 Atlanta Artadia Awards are made possible thanks to MailChimp, Artadia’s Board of Directors, Council members, and many generous individual donors in Atlanta and throughout the United States.

Image, clockwise from top left: Kelly Kristin Jones, Zipporah Thompson, Cosmo Whyte, Jiha Moon, and T. Lang