Artadia is pleased to announce the five Finalists for the 2017 Houston Awards: Regina Agu, Catherine Colangelo, Gabriel Martinez, Kaneem Smith, and Sarah Welch. The Finalists will receive studio visits with second round jurors, who will ultimately select two artists as Awardees to receive $10,000 in unrestricted funds.

The Finalists were selected by jurors Ryan N. Dennis, Public Art Director and Curator, Project Row Houses, Houston, TX; Claire Gilman, Senior Curator, The Drawing Center, New York, NY; and Ryan Trecartin, artist, Los Angeles, CA.

Local juror Dennis spoke to the strength of the submissions: “It was a treat to be on this review panel with my colleagues in the field and represent Houston with pride. All the artists that applied are producing good work and add to the contemporary landscape so it was a hard decision to narrow it down to five but we did, and I feel great with our selections.”

The review piqued Gilman’s interest in the Houston arts community: “It was a pleasure and a privilege to get to know the work of so many talented artists through the Artadia review process. It was inspiring to be introduced to the vibrant Houston artistic community, and it was equally rewarding to share thoughts and opinions with my fellow jurors both of whom brought unique perspectives and insights to the conversation. I look forward to seeing how the work of the Houston applicants develops and am encouraged to take a trip to Houston in the future to see for myself.”

This is Artadia’s eighth Award cycle in Houston. The application was open to all visual artists living in Houston for over two years, working in any media, and at any stage of their career. Finalists and Artadia Award recipients are selected through Artadia’s rigorous, two-tier jury review process. In the first round of review, jurors evaluated the merit of all submissions and collaboratively determined the five Finalists.

The 2017 Houston Artadia Awards are generously supported by The Brown Foundation, the Houston Endowment, Artadia Houston Council members, and Artadia’s Board of Directors.

Image, clockwise from top left: Gabriel Martinez, Regina Agu, Kaneem Smith, Catherine Colangelo, Sarah Welch