Artadia is pleased to announce the five Finalists for the 2017 New York Awards: Dawn Kasper, Michael Portnoy, Mika Tajima, Patricia Treib, and Jessica Vaughn. The Finalists will receive studio visits with second round jurors, who will ultimately select two artists as Awardees to receive $10,000 in unrestricted funds.

The Finalists were selected by jurors Kimberly Drew, Social Media Manager, The Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, NY; Jonah Freeman, artist, New York, NY; and Matthew Lyons, Curator, The Kitchen, New York, NY.

Drew said of the Finalists: “I am deeply excited to advance applications from Dawn Kasper, Michael Portnoy, Mika Tajima, Patricia Treib, and Jessica Vaughn. I believe that they are five artists—working through a wide range of medium—that truly capture New York’s art scene right now. Their intelligence as creators and their acute awareness of color, shape, and form encapsulate the New York scene’s interest in deconstruction and experimentation.”

Lyons lauded the diversity of the group: “The impressive pool of applicants included artists working across a broad range of practices within visual art, and I am happy that the Finalists reflect this range. I look forward to visiting with them.”

This is Artadia’s second Award cycle in New York. Artadia received 683 applications for the Awards, which were open to all visual artists living in New York City for over two years, working in any media, and at any stage of their career. Finalists and Artadia Award recipients are selected through Artadia’s rigorous, two-tier jury review process. In the first round of review, jurors evaluated the merit of all submissions and collaboratively determined the five Finalists.

The 2017 New York Artadia Awards are made possible thanks to the generosity of UOVO and The May and Samuel Rudin Family Foundation.

Image: clockwise, from top left: Dawn Kasper, On Desire or The Method, 2016; Patricia Treib, Ensemble, 2016; Jessica Vaughn, Surplus (detail), 2016; Mika Tajima, Meridian Gold, 2016; Michael Portnoy, 27 Gnosis, 2012.