Artadia is pleased to announce the 2019 Chicago Awards Finalists:

Bethany Collins

Assaf Evron

Brendan Fernandes

Caroline Kent

Alice Tippit

The Finalists will receive studio visits with second-round jurors, who will ultimately select two artists as Awardees to receive $10,000 in unrestricted funds. The Finalists were selected by jurors Ylinka Barotto, Assistant Curator, Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum and Foundation, New York; Ian Berry, Dayton Director of The Frances Young Tang Teaching Museum and Art Gallery at Skidmore College, Saratoga Springs, NY; Grace Deveney, Assistant Curator, Museum of Contemporary Art, Chicago.

Of this year’s Finalists and the selection process, Barrotto noted: “I am always impressed by the tireless, unrelenting work of Artadia as one of the leading organizations in sustaining and bringing to the fore impressive works by contemporary artists across the country. The submissions to the 2019 Chicago award all impressed me with their compelling quality reflected in a broad array of practices. The work of the group of finalists is prescient, innovative, and engaging. Furthermore, each of the finalists in their unique way raises intriguing and pressing questions through a considerate investigation of mediums.”

Deveney felt similarly of this year’s selection; “There were so many incredible artists under consideration and the range of submissions reflects Chicago’s wonderful art networks and communities. The finalists stood out based on the clarity of their visions and their intriguing approaches to material and form.”

This is Artadia’s tenth Award cycle in Chicago. Artadia received more than 500 applications for the Awards, which were open to all visual artists living in Chicago for over two years, working in any media, and at any stage of their career. Finalists and Artadia Award recipients are selected through Artadia’s rigorous, two-tier jury review process. In the first round of review, jurors evaluated the merit of all submissions and collaboratively determined the five Finalists.

Download the PDF press release here.

Artadia is a national non-profit organization that supports artists with unrestricted, merit-based Awards followed by a lifetime of program opportunities. Artadia is unique in that it allows any artist to apply, engages nationally recognized artists and curators to review work, and culminates in direct grants. Since 1999, Artadia has awarded over $5 million to more than 330 artists in Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York, and San Francisco.

The 2019 Chicago Artadia Awards are generously supported by Liberty Mutual Insurance Company, the artist LeRoy Neiman and Janet Byrne Neiman Foundation,Inc., individual donors across the country, Chicago Council members, and Artadia’s Board of Directors.