Artadia, a non-profit grantmaking organization and nationwide community of visual artists, curators, and patrons, is pleased to announce the 2022 Houston Artadia Awards Finalists:

The 2022 Houston Artadia Awards application was open to visual artists working in any visual media, at any stage in their career, who have been living and working within Harris County for a minimum of two years.

This year’s semi-final jurors were Dr. Anita N. Bateman, Associate Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, The Museum of Fine Arts, Houston; Connie Choi, Associate Curator of Permanent Collection, The Studio Museum in Harlem; and Ryan Inouye, Associate curator of the 58th Carnegie International, Carnegie Museum of Art. 

The Round 2 jurors will be Dr. Anita N. Bateman joined by Phillip A. Townsend, Curator of Art, Art Galleries at Black Studies (AGBS), The University of Texas at Austin.

On the jurying process, juror Dr. Anita N. Bateman shared, “The virtual studio visits for the Houston Artadia Awards only confirmed the immense talent of the six finalists, and in effect, the creative force that is the Houston Arts community.”

“I very much appreciated the opportunity to see the breadth of work submitted by artists for the 2022 Houston Artadia Awards and to be in conversation with both Anita Bateman and Ryan Inouye about the artists’ diverse practices,” remarked fellow juror Connie Choi. “The Finalists demonstrated an incredible approach to materials that intrigued me and a deep commitment to the community that engaged me.”

Click here to read the full press release.

Since its founding in 1999, Artadia has awarded over $6 million in unrestricted funds to over 370 artists nationally. Celebrating visual artists and their foundational role in shaping society, the Artadia Award benefits three artists annually in seven major US cities with high concentrations of creative workers—Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, and the San Francisco Bay Area.

The 2022 Houston Artadia Awards are supported by the John R. Eckel Jr. Foundation, the Brown Foundation, Cecily Horton, the Artadia Board of Directors, Artadia Council Members, and individual donors across the country.

Image Captions:

Top, left to right: Sandra de la Rosa, Matt Manalo, Ayanna Jolivet Mccloud 

 Bottom, left to right: Saúl Hernández-Vargas, Anthony Suber, Ian Gerson