Artadia, a non-profit grantmaking organization and nationwide community of visual artists, curators, and patrons, is pleased to announce the 2023 Chicago Artadia Awards Finalists:

The Finalists will each hold virtual studio visits with second-round jurors, who will ultimately select three artists to receive $15,000 in unrestricted funds. The 2023 Chicago Artadia Awards application was open to visual artists working in any visual media, at any stage in their career, who have been living and working within Cook County for a minimum of two years.

 This year’s Round 1 jurors were Janet Dees, Steven and Lisa Munster Tananbaum Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Block Museum, Northwestern University; Craig Hadley, Executive Director and Chief Curator, Dennos Museum Center, Northwestern Michigan College; and Ellen Tani, Independent Curator and Postdoctoral Fellow, Smithsonian American Art Museum. The Round 2 jurors will be Janet Dees joined by René Morales, James W. Alsdorf Chief Curator, MCA Chicago.

Juror Craig Hadley remarked on Artadia’s jurying process, “It was a pleasure to review such a strong pool of submissions alongside co-jurors who treated the process with the utmost thoughtfulness.” 

“The review process revealed how artists’ creativity has endured amidst the most difficult conditions of the pandemic era, and how they continue to open up new ways of thinking about the way we experience this world,” shared fellow juror Ellen Tani.

Click here to read the full press release.

Since its founding in 1999, Artadia has awarded over $6 million in unrestricted funds to over 380 artists nationally. Celebrating visual artists and their foundational role in shaping society, the Artadia Award benefits three artists annually in seven major US cities with high concentrations of creative workers—Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, and the San Francisco Bay Area.

The 2023 Chicago Artadia Awards are supported by the Leroy Neiman Foundation, the Pritzker Pucker Family Foundation, the Walder Foundation, the Artadia Board of Directors, Artadia Council Members, and individual donors across the country.

Image Captions:

Top, left to right: SaraNoa Mark, Nyeema Morgan, Julia Phillips.

Bottom, left to right: Orkideh Torabi, Jacqueline Surdell, Bobbi Meier.