Artadia, a non-profit grantmaker and nationwide community of visual artists, curators, and patrons, is thrilled to announce the 2023 Atlanta Artadia Awards Finalists:

The Finalists will each hold virtual studio visits with second-round jurors, who will ultimately select three artists to receive $15,000 in unrestricted funds.

The 2023 Atlanta Artadia Awards application was open to visual artists working in any visual media, at any stage in their career, who have been living and working within Barrow, Bartow, Butts, Carroll, Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Hall, Henry, Morgan, Newton, Paulding, Pickens, Rockdale, Spalding, and Walton counties for a minimum of two years.

This year’s Round 1 jurors were Rachel Adams, Chief Curator and Director of Programs, Bemis Center for Contemporary Arts; Liz Andrews, Director, Spelman College Museum of Fine Art; and Jia Yi Gu, Director and Curator, MAK Center in LA. The Round 2 jurors will be Liz Andrews joined by Rory Padeken, Vicki and Kent Logan Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Denver Art Museum.

“It was a joy to see the excellent pool of Artadia applicants from Atlanta. The finalists represent a vibrant and diverse group of artists in terms of medium, themes, and cultural representation,” remarked juror Liz Andrews.

Click here to read the full press release.

Since its founding in 1999, Artadia has awarded over $6 million in unrestricted funds to over 390 artists nationally. Celebrating visual artists and their foundational role in shaping society, the Artadia Award benefits three artists annually in seven major US cities with high concentrations of creative workers—Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, and the San Francisco Bay Area.

The 2023 Atlanta Artadia Awards are supported by the Ressler/Gertz Family Foundation, Artadia Board of Directors, Artadia Council supporters, and individual donors across the country.

Image: Top, left to right: Stefanie Jackson, Jane Foley, and Courtney McClellan.

Bottom, left to right: Jessica Caldas, Sergio Suárez, and Nneka Kai.