25th Anniversary

Since its inception in 1999, Artadia has steadfastly championed emerging talents, leaving an indelible mark on the cultural landscape. Over the past 25 years, Artadia has been a catalyst for artistic innovation, providing crucial financial support, connection, and recognition to over 400 artists who have gone on to shape the culture of contemporary art. 

In its 25th year, Artadia is thrilled to continue doing what it does best – creating impact that not only includes financial assistance, but cultivates a community that values artistic expression and champions the next generation of visionaries.


We are thrilled to announce the launch of the Artadia Sustaining Fund in honor of Carolyn Ramo. This initiative will provide one-time no-strings-attached emergency microgrants open to our community of Awardees regardless of the nature of need, offering crucial financial assistance and ensuring that artists can continue to pursue their creative endeavors in the face of unforeseen challenges. Click here to learn more about the Sustaining Fund and to donate.

Our 25th anniversary publication, When We Were Twenty-Five., is now available for purchase! We tasked 25 of our past awardees to respond to the prompt, “Knowing what you know now, what advice would you offer your 25 year old self?”. When We Were Twenty-Five. serves as an emotional resource and counsel for navigating a creative life to artists at any point in their career. Click here to learn more about the publication and to purchase. 

You can also join a council and support artists directly.


In honor of Artadia’s 25th anniversary, we’re sharing memories from our history and highlighting Artadia Awardees in celebration of 25 years of supporting living artists.

Guests at Artadia’s 25th anniversary luncheon, When We Were Twenty-Five.

Our first Award Cycles

Our first ever grant cycle in 1999 in San Francisco resulted in 13 spectacular Awardees: Michael Arcega, JD Beltran, Charlie Castaneda & Brody Reiman, Howie Cherman, Amy Ellingson, Steven Elliot, Vincent Fecteau, Marisa Hernandez, Scott Hewicker, Rachael Neubauer, Brett Reichman, Stephanie Syjuco, and Heidi Zumbrun.

Work by 1999 San Francisco Bay Area Awardee Michael Arcega.

Since 2001, Artadia has funded 93 artists with impactful unrestricted grants in the city of Chicago. Our first Chicago Awardee cohort was composed of 14 artists: Kristine Helen Brailey, Max King Capp, Jeff Carter, Paul Dickinson, Anoka Faruqee, Gaylen Gerber, Angelina Gualdoni, D’nell Larson, Louise LeBourgeois, A. Laurie Palmer, Michael Piazza, Scott Short, Bernard Williams, and Anne Wilson.

Work by 2001 Chicago Awardee Kristine Brailey.

Our first Boston-based Awardee cohort was granted back in 2007! The initial Boston Artadia Awards went to 10 artists – Hannah Barrett, Gerry Bergstein, Xiaowei Chen, National Bitter Melon Council (Hiroko Kikuchi, Jeremy Liu, Misa Saburi, Andi Sutton), Jane D. Marsching, Hendl H. Mirra, John Osorio-Buck, Vaughn Sills, Mary Ellen Strom and Stephen Tourlentes. Since 2007, we’ve awarded 20 contemporary artists within the Boston arts community.

Work by 2007 Boston Awardee Xiaowei Chen.

We’ve Awarded grants in the city of Atlanta since 2009. The initial Atlanta Artadia Awards went to 7 artists – Tristan Al-Haddad, Don Cooper, Ruth Dusseault, Fahamu Pecou, Jerry Siegel, Larry Walker, and Angela West. We’ve since awarded 35 Atlanta-based artists with unrestricted funds.

Work by 2009 Atlanta Awardee Tristan Al-Haddad.

Back in 2013, we granted our first ever Los Angeles Awards to five artists: Cayetano Ferrer, Vishal Jugdeo, Stanya Kahn, Nicole Miller and Kerry Tribe! Since then, we’ve Awarded 29 Los Angeles-based artists who are shaping the culture of contemporary art.

Work by 2013 Los Angeles Awardee Kerry Tribe.

In 2015, we started our New York City Awards cycles. After years of granting at NADA New York, we had a dedicated Award cycle in NYC which resulted in 10 Awardees: Yevgeniya Baras, Joe Fyfe, Donna Huanca, Bill Jenkins, Jennie Jieun Lee, Eric N. Mack, Sara Magenheimer, Park McArthur, Kameelah Janan Rasheed, and Georgia Sagri. We have funded 36 living artists in New York City with unrestricted Awards.

Work by 2015 New York City Awardee Eric N. Mack.

In 2021, we began our partnership with 21c Museum Hotels. The 21c Artadia Award is designed to provide essential funding and recognition to artists at pivotal points in their careers, strengthen arts communities, and spur new levels of career achievement. This partnership allows Artadia to further its mission of meeting artists where they live, in localities beyond our 7 program cities. Our first 21c Artadia Award was granted to Kiah Celeste in Louisville, KY.

Work by 2021 21c Louisville Awardee Kiah Celeste.