Artadia, a non-profit grantmaking organization and nationwide community of visual artists, curators, and patrons, is thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2023 Chicago Artadia Awards: SaraNoa Mark, Nyeema Morgan, and Julia Phillips

Artadia is honored to partner with four foundations committed to supporting exceptional artists in Chicago for our 2023 Chicago Awards cycle – the Joyce Foundation, the LeRoy Neiman and Janet Byrne Neiman Foundation, the Pritzker Pucker Family Foundation, and the Walder Foundation. 

The Joyce Foundation, the Leroy Neiman and Janet Byrne Neiman Foundation, and the Pritzker Pucker Family Foundation have continued to show their dedication to artistic excellence by supporting Artadia’s $15,000 Awards in their respective names. SaraNoa Mark is the LeRoy Neiman and Janet Byrne Neiman Foundation Artadia Award recipient, Nyeema Morgan is the Joyce Foundation Artadia Award recipient, and Julia Phillips is the Pritzker Pucker Family Foundation Artadia Award recipient.

We are thrilled to announce major support from the Walder Foundation for our Chicago Awards. The Walder Foundation was established by Joseph and Elizabeth Walder to address critical issues impacting our world. The Foundation’s five areas of focus—science innovation, environmental sustainability, the performing arts, migration and immigrant communities, and Jewish life—are an extension of the Walders’ lifelong passions, interests, and their personal and professional experiences. 

The decision was reached after an extensive two-tiered jurying process culminating in virtual studio visits with jurors Janet Dees, Steven and Lisa Munster Tananbaum Curator of Modern and Contemporary Art, Block Museum, Northwestern University, and René Morales, James W. Alsdorf Chief Curator, MCA Chicago.

Juror René Morales remarked, “Artadia’s jurying process, which culminates with intimate studio visits with each of the finalists (as opposed to simply reviewing the materials online), allows for fulsome conversations that serve the artists (and jurors) very well.” Fellow juror Janet Dees said, “The virtual studio visits with the finalists provided the opportunity for deep engagement between the jurors and the artists, allowing us to ask questions that helped to further illuminate aspects of the artists’ practices.”

Click here to read the full press release or here to ready about it in Newcity.

Since its founding in 1999, Artadia has awarded over $6 million in unrestricted funds to over 380 artists nationally. Celebrating visual artists and their foundational role in shaping society, the Artadia Award benefits three artists annually in seven major US cities with high concentrations of creative workers—Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, and the San Francisco Bay Area.

Left to right: SaraNoa Mark (photo credit: Zeynep Firat); Nyeema Morgan (photo courtesy of the artist); and Julia Phillips (photo credit: Julia Phillips and Keisha Scarville).

Additional supporters of the 2023 Chicago Artadia Awards include the Artadia Board of Directors, Artadia Council Members, and individual donors across the country.