Artadia, a non-profit grantmaking organization and nationwide community of visual artists, curators, and patrons, is pleased to announce the 2023 New York City Artadia Awards Finalists:

Diane Severin Nguyen

Pauline Shaw

The 2023 New York City Artadia Awards application was open to visual artists working in any visual media, at any stage in their career, who have been living and working within the five boroughs: the Bronx, Brooklyn, Manhattan, Queens, and Staten Island for a minimum of two years.

This year’s Round 1 jurors were Andrea Andersson, Founding Director and Chief Curator, Rivers Institute for Contemporary Art & Thought; Manuela Moscoso, Executive Director, Center for Art, Research and Alliances (CARA); and TK Smith, Writer, Critic, and Assistant Curator of Art of the African Diaspora, Barnes Foundation. The Round 2 jurors will be Manuela Moscoso joined by Mia Locks, Independent Curator.

“Artadia’s is a particular invitation — to support artists of exceptional merit at an inflection point of career and process — sensitive to the fact that time and timing shape the possible,” remarked juror Andrea Andersson. “In our selections, I think we identified artists who give a range of meaning to sensitivity, excellence, and rigor. And they gave us pause– stopped us in our tracks– in an affirming pool of talent.”

Click here to read the full press release.

Since its founding in 1999, Artadia has awarded over $6 million in unrestricted funds to over 385 artists nationally. Celebrating visual artists and their foundational role in shaping society, the Artadia Award benefits three artists annually in seven major US cities with high concentrations of creative workers—Atlanta, Boston, Chicago, Houston, Los Angeles, New York City, and the San Francisco Bay Area.

 The 2023 New York City Artadia Awards are supported by the May & Samuel Rudin Family Foundation, Inc., the New York State Council of the Arts with the support of the Office of the Governor and the New York State Legislature, the Orentreich Family Foundation, the Pollock-Krasner Foundation, The Willem de Kooning Foundation, the Artadia Board of Directors, Artadia Council Members, and individual donors across the country. The New York Artadia Network is generously supported by the National Endowment for the Arts.

Image Captions:

Top, left to right: Chase Hall, Tamar Ettun, Pauline Shaw.

Bottom, left to right: Diane Severin Nguyen, Lizania Cruz, Simon Benjamin.